Mark Fox is a DJ

Leaving & Returning


MP3 File


The opening tune 'Catalyst' reminds me of driving through a creepy night time desert. Following is 'Surreal Killer' which is like driving through a night time desert being chased by a phantasmogoric being. I really like the double drop of 'Precinct 13' and 'Got Me Burning'. The rest of it is upbeat soulful tunes until 'Brand New Funk' drops the dark hard edged funk.

cover art


  1. Hive & Echo - Catalyst
  2. Hive - Surreal Killer
  3. 2 Cities - Concrete Vein
  4. Accidental Heroes - Precinct 13
  5. Peshay - Got Me Burning
  6. High Contrast - Music is Everything (Danny Byrd Remix)
  7. AK1200 - Deja Nu (Mathematics Episode)
  8. 4 Hero - 9x9 (Marcus Intalex & ST Files Vocal)
  9. Blue Sonix - This Feeling (High Contrast Remix)
  10. Adam F - Brand New Funk

The story

Recorded on summer break circa 2002. Sine I was only living at my parents house for a few months I had minimal setup: my Numark mixer, two American DJ cd players, some cheap AM/FM/CD/Tape thing and a tape deck.

One thing I love lovel love about this mix is the mix-out of 'This Feeling–' you can hear the simulated record kill* as created by my CD player. It's such artificial and precise sound (totally lacks the organic quality of analog) it creates this very signature sound: it's totally fake and great!

* Turntables slow before stopping completely, giving a slight decrescendo effect that DJ's occasionally use but tend to avoid because it destroys 'the magic' of seamless mixing. I love it.